Menu Search Donate

Acute Pain Service


The Acute Pain Service (APS) consists of consultant anaesthetists, anaesthetic registrars and pain nurse specialists. The service provides pain management with the use of pain modalities such as patient controlled analgesia or epidurals for post-operative patients and those whose pain is not well managed on basic analgesics.

The service provides specialist information, education and training to children, families and members of the multi-disciplinary team with regard to all aspects of pain management, with the pain nurse specialists being responsible for nursing practice/development and education.

The team also works in close collaboration with the complex and palliative care team for both in and out patients.

Our Team

Dr Andrew Liley Consultant Anaesthetist and Clinical Lead of the Acute Pain Service
Dr Jenny Wright Consultant Anaesthetist
Taryn Mannix  Paediatric Pain Nurse Specialist
Georgena Small Paediatric Pain Nurse Specialist 
Claire Douglas Paediatric Pain Nurse Specialist
Acute Pain Registrar  Anaesthetic registrars on rotation (group changes every four months) 

Pain Service Cover

Pain Service Cover: Pain Nurse Specialist: 0800 - 1630 Monday to Friday

Acute Pain Registrar: 24 hours 7 days a week